For those with an on the job injury, it can be confusing knowing what to do after you are already hurt. This is one of our most frequently asked questions: can an employer deny the injury if the employee did not give them notice of the injury at the time or within a certain amount of time? Here is the answer provided by our experienced workers’ compensation attorney, Craig Armstrong:
Many employers have their own personal procedures for reporting workplace injuries. What governs however is Oklahoma law. In Oklahoma most injuries require notice to be given to the employer within 30 days. There are exceptions to that notice requirement in instances where the injury involves some form of repetitive trauma or some type of exposure to an occupational disease. Even if the notice was not given within the required 30 days it is a defense that can be overcome in many situations.
If you have questions concerning a workplace injury or a workers compensation claim, please call our offices at 918-582-2500 for a free consultation.
Here are other great articles on our site:
Can I Still Have A Workers’ Compensation Claim If I Quit Or Get Fired?
What Is Workers Compensation?